Get a free home demo of LearnNext

Available for CBSE, ICSE and State Board syllabus.
Call our LearnNext Expert on 1800 419 1234 (tollfree)
OR submit details below for a call back


Political And Permanent Executive - Powers Of Prime Minister And His Council Of Ministers And The President

Have a doubt? Clear it now.
live_help Have a doubt, Ask our Expert Ask Now

Political And Permanent Executive - Powers Of Prime Minister And His Council Of Ministers And The President - Lesson Summary

A group of functionaries is called the executive. The executive has two categories: political and permanent. The political executive consists of political leaders who are elected by the people for a specific term.

The permanent executive includes members who are appointed on a long-term basis. The permanent executive is also called the civil services. The political executive has more powers and the final say in all important decisions as they are the representatives of the people.

The political executive includes the Prime Minister and the Council of Ministers.
The President appoints the leader of the majority, or the coalition party that has a majority in the Lok Sabha, as the Prime Minister.

The remaining ministers are appointed by the President based on the Prime Minister’s advice. These ministers are usually from the party or the coalition that has a majority in the Lok Sabha.The group of ministers is called the Council of Ministers. It includes about 70 members of different ranks.
The Council of Ministers includes Cabinet Ministers, Ministers of State with independent charge, and Ministers of State.

A Union Cabinet Minister is a senior minister, from the ruling party, in charge of a ministry. A cabinet minister may also hold additional charges of other ministries, where no other cabinet minister is appointed. The cabinet is the internal ring of the council of ministers. It consists of around 20 members.
A Minister of State is a junior minister with an overseeing cabinet minister, usually having specific responsibility in that ministry. Most important decisions are made in cabinet meetings. Due to this reason, parliamentary democracy is also known as the cabinet form of government.

The Prime Minister has several powers as the head of the government. He chairs cabinet meetings, and assigns work to the other ministers. He also has the power to dismiss ministers. If the Prime Minister resigns, the entire ministry is supposed to have resigned.

The Prime Minister is the most powerful member in the cabinet. The power of the prime ministers has increased so much that parliamentary democracies are sometimes called the Prime Ministerial form of government.
The President is the head of the state, and has nominal powers. The President supervises the overall functioning of all political institutions in the country to achieve the objectives of the state.
The President is not directly elected by the people. All the members of parliament (MPs) and the members of the state legislative assemblies elect the President.

All major government activities, policy decisions and laws are issued in the name of the President. The President takes all major decisions based on the advice of the council of ministers.
One major decision that the President makes on his or her own is to appoint the Prime Minister. The President appoints the leader of the majority party or coalition that enjoys a majority support in the Lok Sabha as the Prime Minister.


Feel the LearnNext Experience on App

Download app, watch sample animated video lessons and get a free trial.

Desktop Download Now
Try LearnNext at home

Get a free home demo. Book an appointment now!