Get a free home demo of LearnNext

Available for CBSE, ICSE and State Board syllabus.
Call our LearnNext Expert on 1800 419 1234 (tollfree)
OR submit details below for a call back


Changing Map of Democracy

Have a doubt? Clear it now.
live_help Have a doubt, Ask our Expert Ask Now

Changing Map of Democracy - Lesson Summary

A major restructuring of the political systems of the world happened during the twentieth century. Countries that had established democracy during 1900s were the United States and Canada in North America, and the United Kingdom, France, Norway and Greece in Europe. By the 1950s, some countries in Asia gained independence and subsequently formed democratic governments of their own like India, Japan and the Philippines.

Another major country which became a democracy around 1950s is Australia. By the year 2000, African countries started their transition towards democracy. Major countries that are still non-democratic are North Korea, Myanmar and China in Asia, Saudi Arabia in the Middle East, Peru in South America, Morocco, Libya, Somalia and Sudan in Africa, and Belarus in Europe.

Some important factors: 
  • Democracy spread throughout the world during the 20th century.
  • Democracy did not spread evenly in all parts of the world, but in different regions and in different phases.
  • While a majority of the countries are democratic, there are still large parts of Africa and Asia that are not democratic.


Feel the LearnNext Experience on App

Download app, watch sample animated video lessons and get a free trial.

Desktop Download Now
Try LearnNext at home

Get a free home demo. Book an appointment now!