Get a free home demo of LearnNext

Available for CBSE, ICSE and State Board syllabus.
Call our LearnNext Expert on 1800 419 1234 (tollfree)
OR submit details below for a call back


Types of Habitat

Have a doubt? Clear it now.
live_help Have a doubt, Ask our Expert Ask Now
format_list_bulleted Take this Lesson Test Start Test

Types of Habitat - Lesson Summary

Habitat: Habitat is the immediate surroundings of an organism. It is the place that is natural for the life and growth of an organism. Animals and plants adapt themselves for their different habitats.

Terrestrial habitat: All the deserts, mountains and forests and grasslands are included under terrestrial habitat.
Desert: Camels show different adaptations to live in deserts. They possess long legs, long eyelashes, covered nostrils, special fat cells, modified cells in the stomach as adaptations.
Snakes and rats live in burrows and come out only during the night when it is cool.
Plants present in the forest are xerophytes or desert plants exhibit some adaptations to live in the desert conditions. Leaves are reduced to spines. Stems are green and fleshy to carry out photosynthesis and to store water. Roots grow deep into the soil to absorb water. The reduced leaf and the thick waxy layer of stem minimize transpiration. 
Mountain region: Most of the trees in cold mountains are cone shaped. The leaves are very thin and needle-shaped to slide off the snow and rain water immediately.
Animals in mountain areas have long thick skin to protect themselves from cold climate They possess strong hooves to run easily.
Grasslands: Lions living in the forests possess skin colour so as to match their environment. They hide themselves in grasslands to catch their prey. They possess strong claws and teeth to tear the food. They have sharp eyesight.
Deer possess long ears to have sharp hearing sense. Deer possess eyes on the side of its head which makes it look in all directions. They have long legs to run fast.

Aquatic Habitat: All the fresh water and marine water bodies are included under aquatic habitat

Fish possess have streamlined bodies, which reduce friction and allow them to move freely in water. 

Sea animals like the octopus and the squid do not possess streamlined body as they stay deep inside the ocean. They have the ability to make their body streamlined when they move in the water.

Aquatic animals possess gills that help them to absorb the dissolved oxygen from water. Dolphins and whales possess blowholes to breathe in air from atmosphere directly. Aquatic plants have much smaller roots which are mostly free floating. Stems are long and light.  Leaves in submerged plants possess ribbon - like leaves which allow the plants to bend themselves in the direction of the flowing water. 
Frogs are amphibious in nature. i.e  a frog can live both in water and on land. Frogs have strong hind legs to hop on land and webbed feet to swim in water. Frogs also have a protective membrane called the nictitating membrane on their eyes. 


Feel the LearnNext Experience on App

Download app, watch sample animated video lessons and get a free trial.

Desktop Download Now
Try LearnNext at home

Get a free home demo. Book an appointment now!