Get a free home demo of LearnNext

Available for CBSE, ICSE and State Board syllabus.
Call our LearnNext Expert on 1800 419 1234 (tollfree)
OR submit details below for a call back


Political and Administrative Divisions

Have a doubt? Clear it now.
live_help Have a doubt, Ask our Expert Ask Now

Political and Administrative Divisions - Lesson Summary

India has 28 states and 7 union territories. The division of these states and union territories is based mainly on the respective languages spoken in these areas. 

States are further divided into districts. Each state and union territory has a separate government to take care of its administrative needs.

The northern states of India are:
  • Jammu and Kashmir
  • Uttarakhand
  • Himachal Pradesh
  • Uttar Pradesh
  • Punjab
  • Haryana

Jammu and Kashmir is called the crown of India because the state is shaped like a crown and is located at the head of India. Haryana and Punjab share Chandigarh as a common state capital. This is because Haryana was a part of Punjab till 1966.

The western region of India comprises:
  • Rajasthan,
  • Maharashtra,
  • Gujarat and
  • Goa

Central India comprises the states of Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh. It was originally the largest state in India in terms of geographical area until in November 2000, Chhattisgarh was carved out of it.

The eastern region of India consists of:
  • Bihar
  • Jharkhand
  • West Bengal
  • Orissa

Orissa is where the historical Kalinga war was fought. This war led Emperor Ashoka to embrace non-violence and the teachings of Buddha?

The north-eastern region of India comprises:
  • Assam
  • Tripura
  • Meghalaya
  • Manipur
  • Nagaland
  • Arunachal Pradesh
  • Mizoram and
  • Sikkim

The region is also known as the Land of the Seven Sisters.
Sikkim is the only state in the region that is not a part of the Seven Sisters.

South India is famous for its greenery and temples and consists of:
  • Andhra Pradesh
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Karnataka
  • Kerala

Karnataka is best known for its software industry and now biotechnology. Kerala, or God’s Own Country, as it is often called, is one of the most popular tourist destinations in India. Kerala also boasts of a very high literacy rate - almost 100 per cent!

Rajasthan is the largest state in India. Goa is the smallest state in India.

India has 7 union territories:
  • Delhi
  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  • Chandigarh
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli
  • Daman and Diu
  • Lakshadweep
  • Puducherry

Delhi, the capital of India, is the largest metropolis in India. It has its own Legislative Assembly, Lieutenant Governor, Council of Ministers and Chief Minister.

Indira Point, the southernmost point of India, lies in the Andaman and Nicobar Islands. However, it got submerged in water when the Tsunami hit India in December 2004.

Within the Andaman and Nicobar Islands also lies Ritchie’s archipelago, a prominent archipelago of India. An archipelago refers to a group or cluster of islands.

Like the Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep is also a famous archipelago. It is also called the Coral Paradise of India, because of the presence of some beautiful coral reefs.


Feel the LearnNext Experience on App

Download app, watch sample animated video lessons and get a free trial.

Desktop Download Now
Try LearnNext at home

Get a free home demo. Book an appointment now!