Get a free home demo of LearnNext

Available for CBSE, ICSE and State Board syllabus.
Call our LearnNext Expert on 1800 419 1234 (tollfree)
OR submit details below for a call back


Kingdom Plantae and Animalia

Have a doubt? Clear it now.
live_help Have a doubt, Ask our Expert Ask Now
format_list_bulleted Take this Lesson Test Start Test

Kingdom Plantae and Animalia - Lesson Summary

All eukaryotic, chlorophyll-containing organisms fall under Kingdom Plantae. Kingdom Plantae includes algae, bryophytes, pteridophytes, gymnosperms and angiosperms. Plant cells are characterised by the presence of a cell wall, which is made up of cellulose. While most plants are autotrophs, some are insectivorous and parasitic. Most plants have two alternate phases in their life cycle: the diploid sporophytic phase and the haploid gametophytic phase. The phenomenon of alternation of sexual and asexual forms in the lifecycle is referred to as “alternation of generation”.
Kingdom Animalia includes heterotrophic, multicellular eukaryotic animals. They depend on plants for food, directly or indirectly. Animals have a holozoic mode of nutrition- ingestion of food takes place through the mouth and passes through the gastro-intestinal tract. Animals reproduce sexually after a male and female copulate, which is followed by embryological development. Higher forms of animals have sensory and neuromotor mechanisms and most of the animals are motile. 


Feel the LearnNext Experience on App

Download app, watch sample animated video lessons and get a free trial.

Desktop Download Now
Try LearnNext at home

Get a free home demo. Book an appointment now!