Get a free home demo of LearnNext

Available for CBSE, ICSE and State Board syllabus.
Call our LearnNext Expert on 1800 419 1234 (tollfree)
OR submit details below for a call back


Meristematic Tissues

Have a doubt? Clear it now.
live_help Have a doubt, Ask our Expert Ask Now
format_list_bulleted Take this Lesson Test Start Test

Meristematic Tissues - Lesson Summary

Tissues are a group of cells similar in structure and functions. There are two main types of plant tissues — meristematic tissues and permanent tissues. Meristemetic tissues undergo active cell division while the permanent tissues do not undergo any division.

Meristems are areas in plants where repeated mitosis occurs, and due to this cell division, it is also where growth occurs more.

Depending on the region where they are present, meristematic tissues are classified as apical, lateral and intercalary.

An apical meristem or growing tip is at the tip of a plant’s stem or root, which is responsible for vertical growth of the plants.

Lateral meristems can be found at the tip of lateral growths in the plant.    

Intercalary meristems can be found between the places at which leaves attach, and leaf bases, especially of certain monocotyledons, common in grasses.


Feel the LearnNext Experience on App

Download app, watch sample animated video lessons and get a free trial.

Desktop Download Now
Try LearnNext at home

Get a free home demo. Book an appointment now!