Get a free home demo of LearnNext

Available for CBSE, ICSE and State Board syllabus.
Call our LearnNext Expert on 1800 419 1234 (tollfree)
OR submit details below for a call back


Cropping Seasons in India

Have a doubt? Clear it now.
live_help Have a doubt, Ask our Expert Ask Now

Cropping Seasons in India - Lesson Summary

Agriculture in India also follows three distinct cropping seasons i.e. rabi, kharif and zaid.

Rabi crops are sown from October to December and harvested in April to June next year. Important rabi crops are wheat, mustard, barley, grams and peas. The important areas of rabi crops are Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Uttaranchal, Himachal Pradesh, and Jammu and Kashmir.

A movement launched in India in the mid-1960s promoted the use of high-yield seeds, and an increase in the use of fertilisers and irrigation. This movement is called the Green Revolution of India.

Kharif crops are sown in July to August with the onset of monsoons and harvested in September and October. Important kharif crops are rice, maize, millets like jowar and bajra, pulses like arhar or tur, moong and urad, fibre crops like cotton and jute, and oilseeds like groundnut and soybean. The main rice-producing areas in India are Assam, West Bengal, coastal Orissa, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Konkan in Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar.

The summer months between harvesting the rabi crop and sowing the kharif crop, are called the zaid season. During this season, famers cultivate crops that grow quickly, like watermelon, muskmelon, cucumber, summer vegetables and fodder crops.


Feel the LearnNext Experience on App

Download app, watch sample animated video lessons and get a free trial.

Desktop Download Now
Try LearnNext at home

Get a free home demo. Book an appointment now!